OK, my first hand look at the MyFi…..

Posted: March 8, 2005 in XM

So, I went down to Circuit City tonight to get my first hand look at the XM MyFi, and now I want one even more.

I pushed all the buttons, cuz, well, I’m a guy and thats what we do.

Overall, I do like the features of the MyFi, but it could use a bit of work in some areas.

Pluses:
-It has an FM modulator (which for those of you out there who dont know makes it so you can turn it on, put it near any radio and hear the XM through the existing radio) which will get rid of a wire for me, and thats good.
-Portability: You can take this thing ANYWHERE, and either listen to live programming, or up to 5 hours of recorded content
-Ability to Record, or timeshift, programming: Best feature yet, because if I am outside of the service area (like in a cave) I can still hear XM, and recorded XM is still better than live FM. Also one cool feature to note is that it automatically indexes recordings by Artist/Song, and you can easily skip from song to song, or start songs over if needed. One drawback to this is that you cannot delete the stored programming. Once it is full, it deletes the oldest programming first, which I would imagine is because of the RIAA. Still very cool though.
-Built-in Alarm: No more waking up to FM or CD’s, now I can wake up to Opie and Anthony, or news, sports, talk or music.
-A clock: sounds trivial, but very cool.
-One-Touch recording: So, I’m sitting in my car listening to my favorite tune, and my phone rings. No problem, just hit the XM2Go button, and that song is saved for me.

OK, I’m sure there is more that I havent discovered yet about the good things, now I have to move on to my complaints.

COMPLAINTS:
-Scroll wheel: They moved the scroll wheel from the front of the unit on the SkyFi to the side of the unit (and much smaller) on the MyFi (they have been doing this on roady’s for a while) which makes it harder to fiddle with when your driving. Pretty minor though considering you can still use presets (it has up to 30) or direct entry.
-No replay feature: This is one of the coolest things on the SkyFi2, but there is an easy workaround by hitting the XM2go button, so once again, not a deciding factor for me
-Smaller display than the SkyFi: I am assuming this was done to save space. For as many times as I look at the display while I am driving (not many) this doesnt matter. If I absolutely have to know what song I just heard, I hit the memory button, and look at it when I get to my destination.

Anyways, I have babbled on long enough for something that I dont even have yet (and only played with for 10 minutes). I will be ordering this soon, and then I will have more I’m sure.

Comments
  1. Ryan says:

    I’m considering getting the Pioneer Airwave. The MyFi looks nice (I have yet to find a place that has it in stock so I can play around with it), but the Pioneer is pretty nice, too. Plus, everyone has a MyFi and I like to be different šŸ™‚

    I e-mailed Pioneer to see if they could give me a better date than “Spring 2005” as to when it would be released and they haven’t got back to me yet…

    Either way, I’m getting and XM2Go unit and retiring the XMPCR (even though I like it so much).

  2. mnxmfan says:

    Yeah, I thought about holding out for a different type of unit, but the price and time was right for me.

    I too, will be retiring my PCR and my DkyFi for this, as I wont have anywhere to use them.

    Oh well šŸ˜‰

    Either way, I am gonna love havin the XM2Go and Im helpin out Ziggy at the same time.

    BTW, can you tell I am playing catchup LOL

  3. Ryan says:

    I got an e-mail back from Pioneer telling me the obvious, mid-April. So that doesn’t help anything. I might just have to go with the MyFi from Ziggy šŸ™‚

    I’m playing catch up, too. I’m falling behind on life lol

  4. mnxmfan says:

    Well Ryan, from what I understand, the hardware will be identical, mostly just a choice of cosmetics, so you would probably be safe with either one.

    I’ve had mine for less than 10 hours and I LOVE it, its like a dream come true šŸ˜‰

  5. mnxmfan says:

    Oh yeah, and I dont seem to ever catch up. Guess I have too many interests šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

