School shootings hit closer to home this time….

Posted: March 21, 2005 in News, Politics

Local coverage on the events is here.

So, a terrible school shooting in Red Lake (About two-three hours north of me) happened today. The 17 year old shot his grandparents, and killed a student, injuring 6 more. They are comparing this to Columbine.

This is terrible, and what is the kid blaming it on? Bullies picking on him. I can see where that is a terrible thing to have to deal with in school. Growing up, I had to deal with it alot. I think what this tells us as a society is that we need to drive the point home that you can make fun of someone to a point, and eventually they will snap. Teach kids to be secure enough with themselves that they dont have to feel like they need to single someone out just to get more attention and be “cool”. I bet they are feeling “cool” now huh?

I’ll be the first to admit that sometimes I pick on people and make fun of them. But I do it to good friends of mine who I know can take it. I may also make fun of someone to a point, but it’s never to their face, and its usually so far out there that it is for comedic values (Opie and Anthony style 😉 )

But yes, as a society we do need to be aware that these things can, and do happen. Whether its a killing, or a fight, or whatever else you can come up with.

But then again, maybe I am wrong, and maybe the blame lies in the kids getting picked on…..

Who knows how we can solve this huge dilema? Who do we blame? The media? No I dont think so. How about the parents? The kids? The parents of the kids who picked on him? The schools? Is there really anyone we can blame?

Comments
  1. clifford says:

    I like your website alot…its lots of fun… you have to help me out with mine…

  2. carolee says:

    Hope you come back soon!!

  3. pennie says:

    I like this site!

  4. warren says:

    A very nice website !! Very well Done !!!

  5. becky says:

    Hey man…sorry I missed the party.

  6. priscilla says:

    Hi there! Your site is cool!

  7. yasmin says:

    I like your website alot…its lots of fun… you have to help me out with mine…

  8. felicia says:

    Very interesting and professional site! Good luck!

  9. Molli says:

    Hope you come back soon!!

  10. caryl says:

    Very interesting & professional site. You done great work.

Leave a Reply

