T-Shirt Hell removes "Worse Than Hell" section

Posted: May 3, 2005 in News

Well, after going on Fox News, Tshirt Hell removes its “Worse than Hell” section.

Now, I agree, its offensive stuff, but thats the POINT! If you like it and endorse it, then buy it, if not, then don’t.

Just another blow for censorship that Fox News strikes. Try to tell me now that they don’t have an agenda.

Thoughts anyone?

Update Here is the article from the site:

LAS VEGAS–(BUSINESS WIRE)–May 1, 2005—Las Vegas based internet company T-Shirt Hell.com used to be home to the most offensive t-shirts on the internet. With shirts that made light of everything from 9/11, to School Shootings, to the recent Tsunami; T-Shirt Hell truly lived up to its name.

But as of today, that’s no longer true. Founder, Owner, and President Aaron Schwarz has decided to take down the most offensive shirts in his inventory. In fact, he’s removed the entire “Worse Than Hell” category from his website.

“It was always my goal to make outrageous t-shirts.” said Schwarz. “It was always my intention to make people laugh. But a lot of people were needlessly hurt and upset by the shirts on our website, and for that I want to apologize. Schwarz is ready to put his money where his mouth is. This year he is looking to donate up to 30% of his profits to charities that are involved with the groups, and events he used to make fun of, if they will accept them.

When asked where he goes from here, Schwarz was optimistic. “Worse Than Hell” comprised less than 20% of our shirts. We still have plenty of insane, dirty, twisted shirts that you won’t find in the local mall. As for our loyal fans, I hope they’ll continue to be just that: loyal.

I started this web site on my terms and will continue to run it as I see fit. Removing shirts that affect many people in a negative way is just not exciting to me anymore and that doesn’t make me lame or a sell out. It would only be a sell out if I sold shirts that I no longer agreed with just to make a profit. It would be lame to let someone else tell me how to run my business. I still have a great team. We still have the best artists, and the most talented writers, and we will continue to make the most kick ass t-shirts around.

Comments
  1. Ryan says:

    I’m not really sure. The point was to make offensive t-shirts and that goal was achieved. I think there are some things that are just plain wrong to make fun of (i.e. 9/11), but there are other things that are just asking to be made fun of (i.e. Bush, gay governors, etc).

    I think it is cool that he’s giving a portion of the profits to those who were “hurt” by the shirts. That’s cool of him and shows he has a heart, despite what people might have thought before this move. But removing the “Worse than Hell” category is a gutsy move, but he’s obviously doing it for a reason.

    FOX news does have a strong hand it plays and it definitely sounds like they had a hand in it. It also sounds like the owner didn’t want negative feedback or being slammed with e-mails saying “you’re a devil worshiper” or death threats or whatever.

    Eh. Whatever 😉 What’s done is done. FOX network kind of pisses me off lately. They are being WAY too conservative. I mean, try watching Family Guy or American Dad without a disclaimer stating there’s “cartoon nudity and objectionable language.” Well, no shit! There’s gonna be that kind of material on those shows.

    I understand the disclaimers in order to not get sued, but really, it’s just asinine they have to even display a disclaimer. I mean, when was the last time someone was emotionally scared for life by seeing a nude cartoon character (that was not engaging in a sexual act and also didn’t show any anatomy)?

    That’s why my “Legal Issues in the Mass Media” class is so interesting and yet so confusing. Everyone wants to sue for a stupid reason. And yet, those people win…

    I could go on and on :p

  2. mnxmfan says:

    Yeah I’m not sure how I feel about it. Some things are definitely not something you really want to get too “racey” with, but I just don’t want it to get too censored out there too.

    I am so conflicted!

  3. lizbeth says:

    I am here to say hello and you have a great site!

  4. shelly says:

    This site is a lot of fun very well designed.

  5. nydia says:

    Holla and Happy Thanksgiving.

  6. orpha says:

    Hello! Very interesting and professional site.

  7. tom says:

    This is the coolest La Cocina.

  8. Molli says:

    Holla and Happy Thanksgiving.

  9. hermelinda says:

    Hey man…sorry I missed the party.

  10. clifford says:

    Hello and congratulations!

  11. theodore says:

    Your site is amaizing. Can I share some resources with you? appropriate education track light ascent education

Leave a Reply

