Trying out ad's on the site

Posted: May 4, 2005 in Computers

So, day by day, the bandwidth costs on this site continue to rise, and in an effort to try to pay for the costs, which are minimal, I have decided to place a banner ad at the top of the page.

Its one of those things that will most likely be removed once the hosting costs are covered, as I want to run a not for profit site, but I also am concerned about the visitors and readers of this blog. The last thing I want to do is drive away visitors, so what do you think? Are the ad’s OK?

Are the ad’s too distracting?

Comments
  1. Ryan says:

    I don’t see any ads and I am using a browser that allows ads. I usually block ads on my normal browser (Safari) anyway, as do most “advanced users.” That’s the problem with ads now. Only people without ad-blockers will see the ads.

    That’s kind of why I use Linkshare. I signed up to be a promoter of the Apple Store and iTunes and have made $27.xx in the past half year or so (partially it was because some generous person bought a new iMac G5 with my referral link and I don’t know who it was, but they deserve a thank you!!).

    I have no problems with ads as long as:
    1. They are unobtrusive.
    2. Not too flashy (static ones are best in my opinion).
    3. And they interest me 😉

    If it helps pay for hosting, go for it!

  2. mnxmfan says:

    The ads are from google, so they aren’t THAT annoying. They are static ads that load when a page loads, and alot of times, are links anyways.

    I just havent decided where on the page to put them. Right now they are at the top, but maybe I will put them on the sidebar.

Leave a Reply

