Some people really are stupid…..

Posted: July 5, 2005 in News

OK so today, I read a story about a pirate radio station that interferred directly with a religious broadcaster. Below is an excerpt from radioandrecords.com:

North Miami Beach, FL police detectives on June 23 seized and impounded equipment being used by an unlicensed radio station that used the 91.7 MHz frequency — the same one used by Christian Rock noncomm WMKL/Key Largo-Miami.

OK, now I have been running a small “pirate” of my own for over six years. The difference? I don’t interfere with other broadcasters, I keep it family friendly (and by that I mean no foul language in the middle of the day, as much as I could care less about it, I know its a big no-no in the radio world) and I don’t sell advertising. So far it hasn’t been a problem, and the moment that I get “the letter” I will shut down and never be heard from again.

I certainly won’t let myself get arrested over it. While I love doing what I do, its just a hobby, and not my entire life. I believe in freedom of speech, and the airwaves, much like the national forrests, are owned by the public. Even though the government and corporate radio have forgotten that, I haven’t. But please, if your going to do it, know what your doing. Oh yeah, and be responsible with it, OK?

UPDATE: The second story I linked to is a second case of a raid in Miami today. Same issue, they interferred with a licensed station, and they were running 10,000 watts, or 1/10th of the power of the radio stations here, and I believe 1/3 the power of the full stations in Miami. Certainly much more than my measily 12 watts. See, all you gotta do is act responsibly.

Update #2: Not sure how much of this I believe, at least as far as the interference complaints go. A friend of mine brought up a good point that the media likes to slant things, especailly to protect the corporate broadcasters. So, form your own opinions, what do you think?

Leave a Reply

