Unemployment line here I come

Posted: July 21, 2005 in Work

So recnetly we lost a rather big client, and today, it affected me. I am part of what was once a two employee department doing customer service for this company. A while back, my coworker quit, and was replaced with someone who does mostly IT, and about 20% customer service.

Well today about 20 minutes before the end of my shift, me and two other employees from other departments were pulled into the conference room. We were then informed that our positions have been eliminated. They were very classy about the way they handled it, saying that I could get letters of reccomendation from them, and paying me for all vacation (even the portion that I hadn’t yet earne)

I am glad that I left on good terms with the company, and hopefully the business they are in will pick up for them very soon. This was by far the best job I have ever had as far as the people I worked with and for, and thats what makes this so hard.

Yeah, its been a tough day, I had some good news, but I am going to let this settle for a minute before I talk about that. I will be getting up to 6 months of unemployment from the state of Minnesota since I was laid off, but it will probably be less than half of what I was originally making. I will find a way to make this work until I get a new job, which hopefully won’t take long.

They are also paying me for tomorrow, which is technically my last day, but they said I do not have to come into work tomorrow except to return the company cell phone and maybe answer a few questions for my manager, who will now be taking over my job in addition to doing his own.

Best of luck guys, keep me in mind if business picks up again, you are very classy people who have lost alot of business to overseas company.

Comments
  1. Ryan says:

    Sorry to hear about that 😦 But at least they were polite about it and let you down softly. I’m sure you’ll find a new job that’s just as good, if not better. Nice, smart people like you are wanted everywhere and I have no doubt you’ll be back on your feet soon!

    Good luck as always!!

Leave a Reply

