Is the Minneapolis Dance Scene Dead?

Posted: July 28, 2005 in Music

That is a question that I have asked myself as of late. After my shocking dixcovery on Sunday that one of the big vinyl shops is now basically dead (the live online) and the other one has been severly reduced due to declining sales. Today I found out that three of the big DJ’s from Minneapolis are moving to Seattle. So that starts me looking around. First Avenue has pretty much abandoned true dance for top 40 and hip hop “dance” nights (sorry, I don’t count that as dance) and The Quest has but one or two nights of dance music shoved into a back room (for that more intimate setting I guess).

And the person who got me into dance music, DJ “Big Daddy” Greg Comstock, has basically disappeared, and his website is gone. Gone also appear to be PD Spinlove, whom I didn’t really care for, but he did co host the dance nights with Comstock.

Three years ago, there was three or more dance nights at First Avenue, and two at The Quest (in the mainroom) and now if you want any dance music in Minnesota, it pretty much comes from Sound In Motion, which as of late has also run into some difficult times (or at least it appears with thier one not-so-steller event listed on the homepage).

It really makes me sad to think that once a great town for dance is now pretty close to being a major market without a dance record store or weekly hangout for dance music fans if things don’t change soon. And the genre is all but ignored on the FM dial here, with a specialty show on Saturday nights on the local community station being the only outlet left. Ten years ago, we had two dance shows on FM, on the alternative outlets formerlly known as Rev 105, and The Edge (93.7)

So that is why I ask this difficult question, that I hope leads to an answer of “no”.

Comments
  1. Trudge says:

    Honey the Minneapolis dance scene has been dead for at least 10 years.

  2. mnxmfan says:

    Ten years? But I remember just two years ago having several different choices for dance music events on a Friday or Saturday night?

  3. jb9 says:

    If you hear anything about P.D. Spinlove drop me a line. That man can make me dance. I miss him.

  4. billie says:

    Your site is amaizing. Can I share some resources with you?

  5. lloyd says:

    I like your website alot…its lots of fun… you have to help me out with mine…

  6. teena says:

    This site is a lot of fun very well designed.

  7. billie says:

    Your site is amaizing. Can I share some resources with you?

  8. sonia says:

    A very nice website !! Very well Done !!!

  9. violet says:

    I like your website alot…its lots of fun… you have to help me out with mine…

  10. billie says:

    Follow your dreams, you can reach your goals.

Leave a Reply

