An Update on the previous post, and the SPAM

Posted: March 30, 2006 in Computers, Personal

Well, after giving the whole situation with the ex friend as stated below absolutely NO THOUGHT aside from that night, and this post, I have decided to not do anything.

I have decided that no good can come of the situation, as the amount of changing that would need to happen would be merely impossible. His goals vary too much between mine, and I am not OK with that. I have a very clear direction for my life, and people such as him would only prevent me from attaining my goals.

With that out of the way, on to more important things. The SPAM here has gotten out of hand, and I realize that. Unfortunately, with my current school load I do not have the time (almost an hour a day in some cases) to delete all the SPAM. There is an antispam engine built in, but it requires updates from a central server, and in most cases, by the time they know about it, the damage has already been done. The engine does not go back and delete the existing spam.

With all of that said, I will spend the next month and a half testing out other blog programs (behind the scenes) to see if it can offer what I need from an engine. Then, sometime this summer, when classes let out, I will be upgrading the blog to whichever software seems to work the best. I am sorry it will take so long. This requires alot of time, alot of customization, some light coding, testing, UI tweaks, and time in porting over all the old posts from this blog. Hopefully, when all is said and done, it will be for the better.

I will continue to update this blog in the meantime, because I can’t just stop blogging for 2-3 months. Also, I will most likely move the blog from this subdomain onto the main URL, as that has gone without updates for about a year. For those of you with RSS readers setup, I will make sure that your made aware of the update before this subdomain is inactive.

Whew! Sorry for such a read. Thanks for reading, and hopefully all will be much better when the dust settles!

Comments
  1. Ryan says:

    I kind of cheat with my blog software, Geeklog. Since it allows entries in the future and does all of the posting work for me, I just type whatever I feel at the moment, give it a date to go live, and then sit back and surprise myself when I go to my site and see a new (but really old) entry, haha!

    The blacklist for spam was discontinued for Geeklog, too, but for some reason, people don’t spam my site. I guess it’s a good thing. When I had trackbacks enabled, there was spam all of the time. Since disabling that, though, it’s been quiet. Then again, I’m not complaining!

    But back to the whole time issue. I totally understand that. School is kicking my butt right now, too, and I try to update the blog daily, but it’s becoming harder and harder. Thankfully, there’s the post in the future feature, so I can cheat a bit and make it look like I have all of the time in the world!

    Anyway, enough of my rambling!

  2. mnxmfan says:

    Hey Ryan!

    Thanks for the tip, I didn’t even realize I COULD disable trackbacks, but I came up with a way to make it happen. Hopefully that should help for now.

    Yeah, I too have a post in the future option, but I hardly ever use it. Maybe I’ll start! I also have a post in the past feature, which comes in handy if I meant to post something on a particular day and forgot!

    Anyways, back to Database Essentials… Access 2003 complete with data entry Sarcasm WOOOOOHOOOOO! /Sarcasm

  3. 3s7o5qycd8 says:

    8t2p6i7wo875 [URL=http://www.115066.com/822592.html] 1alt235w2is0h6k [/URL] he7kcny44th77q83f

Leave a Reply

