Can Time Heal all wounds?

Posted: December 3, 2006 in Friends, Uncategorized

Thats the question I am attempting to answer, and it appears as if time can heal all wounds, or if not all of them, most of them.  Part of me is so incredibly happy, and part of me is a little nervous, and I’ll get to both in good time. 

Remember that really good friend I had about two years ago?  If not, go back to about August of 2004 on your right and catch up.  Things were said, and I felt absolutely horrid for what was said about a month after this all went down, if not sooner.  I’ll leave names out to protect the privacy of this person.  Anyways, I got an email from her through my Myspace page about a week ago, which definitely sparked my interest.  Out of all the friends I have lost over the past 26 years, I’ve NEVER missed anyone so much, and two years later it was still hitting me pretty hard.  How do you go from being so close to a person one minute to never speaking to them the next without it hurting?

More after the jump……

So anyways, we immediately began chatting, and it felt just like old times again.  I had my best friend back.  So why am I a bit nervous?  I’ll get there, but first I think I owe it to everyone to explain a few things.  Some details will be ommitted, as I would like to respect the privacy of this person who I do still have a great deal of respect for.

First off, after over two years of not speaking, she has the guts to find me out on Myspace, which is something I didn’t even get into until a few months after we stopped talking.  I have alot of respect for that, as I sure didn’t have the guts to email her an apology for some of the things I said.  Second, she did have a perfect explination for all of this, which I will leave out.  Third, she kept up with my blog, which is very flattering.  And I couldn’t be happier and do not regret my decision one bit.  Talking to her on the phone this past Monday, it was as if things just picked up where they left off.  I realize they didn’t, I mean its been two years and people grow alot in two years.

So by now, I bet your asking yourself “so if he’s so happy about this, what’s to be nervous about?”  Well, let me explain.  I’m certainly not afraid of a repeat from two years ago.  I’ve decded that, no matter how tough things may get, its all worth it in the end.  I mean everyone has thier good days and their bad, and I just took a bad day and blew it WAY out of proportion.  It’s human nature to get on people’s nerves from time to time.  My fear comes in that she now has a new friend.  From what I can tell, this friend is very cool, and I certainly think we will get along.  But, at the same time, this new friend of hers seems to be very protective of her.  My fear is that I will say or do the wrong thing, and the end result will not be pretty for me.

I feel simply horrible for having that tiny fear, and its totally worth it.  I know most of you do not know this person, but she is just awesome, and its totally worth anything I have to do to keep her in my life.  And this fear is probably unfounded, I really don’t know.  I guess for now I’ll take a wait and see approach.  Over time, I’m sure I’ll find out whether or not her friend likes me, and how exactly all of this will play out.

Wherever I fit into all this, I’m happy, so I certainly wouldn’t want anybody to worry.  I’ll have more later!

I certainly hope that I do not upset anyone with this post.  I tried to get ahold of everyone I could to let them know personally, and for the most part, I’m getting support, but at the same time I would like to remind you that this is my decision, and I have made it.  Thank you for your support.  

Comments
  1. Ryan says:

    I don’t see that her friend would have a problem with you, and personally I feel that if this new friend does, this new friend is then a bit over-protective in my book. Granted I wasn’t in the situation, etc. so it’s not my intent to offend/hurt/humilate/act as Dr. Phil on the matter!

    I’d just take the wait and see approach. When it comes to that time, it comes to that time. Someone shouldn’t judge you and tell a mutual friend that you two can’t be friends or whatever based on a past experience. No one can tell their friends who they can be friends with, who they should associate with, etc. and enforce it. While this new friend might not like you (I don’t see that being an issue and I haven’t even “met” you!), I don’t see it hurting you and your apologetic friend’s relationship.

  2. MNXMFan says:

    Hey Ryan, long time no see!

    Yeah, its about a week and a half later, and I definitely feel better about the situation at hand. I think my big problem is being nervous around people. We didn’t get off to the best start, but I think thats to be expected when meeting new people, especially when you don’t have much in common with those people.

    At any rate, I’m really not all that worried. Over the past two weeks, I think things have gotten much better. And I don’t think the whether or not we should be friends is something that her friend would do. I’m sure all will be fine, we seem to be getting along much better now!

Leave a Reply

