Why do bad things happen to good people?

Posted: March 11, 2007 in Friends

So Sara has been dating this guy for about 3 months.  The relationship seemed to make her very happy, although the circumstances of the relationship were not ideal to begin with.  I personally also really liked the guy, because he made her happy, and he was cool with our friendship and not jealous about it.

Well, this past weekend he broke up with her.  Seems crappy, since at no time did he give any indication that he would do something like that.  And the other thing is that I cannot believe that he would do something like that.  Here she is, truely one of a kind and amazing, she deserves to be treated well, not thrown out to pasture.

Now granted, I do not know the full extent of what happened, or why he made the decision that he did, but to me it would be a no brainer.  I’m not really sure what to think at this point until I can get all the details, but right now I’m a bit angry about the whole thing.  I mean it feels like all the talk was just fluff to get in her pants, and I know there are guys out there that will do that.  To those guys, STOP IT, your giving guys that would care for and love and respect a woman for more than just sex a bad name, and it’s making it tough out there.

Now, you faithful blog readers know exactly how I feel about this person.  But that withstanding, I also understand a few things, and definitely know my place.  But, given the same opprotunity as this guy was, I honestly couldn’t see making the same decision.  I mean, she’s smart, supportive, funny, pretty, and from what I’ve seen of both this relationship and the one with her ex husband, she has alot of love that she is willing to share with whomever manages to capture her attention.  Hell, even as a friend, she has shown more love, support, and overall friendship than any of my past romantic relationships, so much to the point that she has caused me to raise my own standards.

So, my question to you, my faithful readers (or those who accidently set this drivel as your homepage and can’t figure out how to change that) is this.  Why?  Why are guys like this to her?  Why can’t a great person catch a break?

And one more to ponder, if you were in a relationship with someone who was willing to give you her heart, what would you do with it?

Leave a Reply

