Time flies, when your having ….. fun

Posted: November 1, 2007 in College Life, Computers, Friends, Fun

So, its been almost a month since my last post.  Sorry, things get rather hectic around here with school, and work, and my rather active social life. 

Anyways, to update you on a few things:

The podcast I tried to start up is officially cancelled.  I’m sure it had potential, but I simply do not have the time to research the topics and get new shows recorded enough to make it worth your while.  Perhaps once school is done and I have a full time job, things will settle down, but as it stands now, I’m hardly home for more than a few hours on the weekdays, and usually so wiped by that on the weekends (and let us not forget the social life) that I am not motivated enough to do it.

My car broke down.  Yup thats right.  Well, not break, but it was still a $2500 repair by the time all was said and done.  Fuel injectors went bad on me.  Not too bad considering I’ve had the car now for 4 years, and I’ve only put about $4000 into it in total, but it still hurts to spend that much at once!

Because of the car breaking down, I’m picking up more hours at work.  I’m a workstudy at school, so I don’t get too many hours, but I can pick up as many as 20 hours a week, or up to $1500 this semester in total pay (at 8 bucks per hour).

I still have yet to smoke a cigarette since I quit on October 1st.  It hasn’t been all easy, but I’m commiitted to making this time work.  That should help with that $2500, you’d think, but I want to recognize extra spending money because of it, so I am more motivated to not start again, so I won’t be putting it towards that.

I haven’t been getting to the gym three times a week yet, but November will change that.  I’ve been tired because, as I’m sure some of you ex smokers are aware, quitting affects your sleeping habits and schedule.  I seem to have those issues worked out now, and will probably start up again either tomorrow or Saturday on the whole workout plan.  I got a new MP3 player, because I managed to break my old one, so there is even more motivation, and if I get in 13 times per month, my insurance company reimburses me $20.

I’m still working on upgrading this blog, but my host is still having some issues, so we shall see if I can get that done in the next few weeks (time permitted, of course!).

I am considering completely taking free time away from myself and starting my career a bit early.  I’ve got some feelers out there for jobs, so if the right one comes along, I may very well start working before the semester ends in December.  It’d be tough, but for the right job it would also be worth it to torture myself for a few weeks.

The plan is still to move out sometime this coming spring, and with degree in hand, it shouldn’t be that hard to find a job to make that a reality.  I’ve been noticing more job openings as of late for my career path, so thats good news.  This summer was pretty dry, and evidently the few places I applied for decided they still wanted to see proof of my graduation, which will happen in December.  The one exception to this rule is a job I found out about that is in Burnsville which pays right around what I was looking for and does not require that you have a degree.  (Its posted through school, so they probably know they are getting someone who is GOING to have a degree anyways).

Apperantly, I broke my about me page, so I will work on getting that back up.  Which is a good thing, because I now also have a facebook page, and it would be nice to have a one stop shop way of finding my online persona.

Anyways, thats all for now, I have some opinion posts that I would like to materialize, but I’ll have to wait and see if I can get the time to sit down and write them.  I have a study group that meets tomorrow, so I better get off this thing and start transitioning to bed here.  

Leave a Reply

