The temp agency misled me (not that surprised)

Posted: June 3, 2008 in Work

So, I was originally told when I was signed on with the current company that I work for, that I would be on a temp to hire contract that would last 3 months.  In talking to my two co-workers, who also started out as temps through this very agency, I started to realize that this might not be the case.  Upon several phone calls, I verified that 3 months was indeed the length of the contract.

Well, three months is up at the end of this week, and guess what?  Yup, rather than it being 480 hours (worked) it is 720.  So, I am a little frustrated, but take this in stride.  Nothing major, I still have a job, and I am still overpaying for COBRA.  I still love my job, and would work there as a temp for up to a year if it meant I would be hired. 

But, this does do one thing that I am not thrilled about.  It pushes my move out date back, which I had already pushed back once because of this very thing.  See, its not that I can’t afford to move out, because I certainly can, rather its that it would be VERY tight under current circumstances.  When budgeting out my money, after everything is paid for I would have nothing left to put into savings, should say, my car bite the dust.

Whereas after my benefits kick in, even if I get hired at EXACTLY what I am making now (which is what I am counting on, FWIW), I will have between 3 and 4 hundred dollars left at the end of the month. 

The other thing, and I don’t think this will be an issue but I do have to consider it, is that anywhere I choose to live will require a 1 year lease.  I have found a few apartment prospects within 4 miles of work, but would be stuck there in the unlikely event I do not get hired on at the end of my contract.  This scenario is pretty unlikely, but I do need to consider that when I am looking.

So, for now, its looking like August 1st for a move out date.  In the grand scheme of things, not that important.  I’d rather wait and be stable, than rush it and struggle.

Leave a Reply

