Less than a month to go

Posted: July 7, 2008 in Project: Home

So, everything has basically been chuggin along here as usual.  Obviously, the move date gets closer every day.  I was going to try to push it up a week, for fear that I wouldn’t have any help on moving day, but now it sounds like I wouldn’t have help on that day, but rather on August 2nd.  I’m sure I’ll pick up the keys the night of the 30th, and probably schedule cable/internet/phone install for the 1st.

I bought a bed, pretty nice one, definitely not top of the line though.  $600.  Also bought a pot and pan set and silverware for around $200.  I think pretty much all that is left now is the little stuff.  Rugs, towels, cooking utensils, etc.  All in all, I have managed to keep it under budget, which makes me happy.  Obviously I’m pretty excited about the whole thing.

In other news, I have about two weeks left on my contract at work, so I’m sure I’ll start hearing something about the process of going permanent here rather shortly.  The guy who trained me in has now unofficially been promoted, so as if I had something to worry about, I certainly don’t now.  The job is working out really well, although with the vacation of one coworker and moving of another, I have been the only one at the help desk for about a week now.  No big deal, I’m thinking thats actually a good sign.

On the social side of life, things have been acceptably quiet as of late.  With the stresses of moving, and work keeping m busy, the last thing I really want to do at the end of the day is hang out these days.  I know for a fact that will change, but for now I don’t really have a place to hang out with friends.  So, when I do hang out, we always end up going somewhere or I go to someone else’s house.  But I am still finding the time and money to go out to eat occasionally, or go drinking, which was the case last weekend.  And I have really started developing a better relationship with my brother lately, so between all of that, I do all the “hanging out” I need.

Once I get moved in, however, I know I am going to start working on “project reconnect”.  There have been several people whom I have simply lost touch with that I would like to reach out to, especially now that I am done with school and somewhat financially stable.  This doesn’t include people who I have disconnected with on bad terms (come to think of it, I can only think of two people that happened with, my ex from 6 years ago and Sara). but I haven’t really talked to a few Chris’s, Jess, Jason, Justin, Pat, my step brother, Brian, Ryan, Todd, and I’m sure I am missing quite a few in addition to those.

So, I guess that’s it for now.  I’ll keep you posted, as I slowly box up my old life and start my new one.

Leave a Reply

