XM/Sirius Merger approved….

Posted: July 24, 2008 in Music, XM

You can go to Orbitcast to follow this, but I guess it’s a done deal. 

Time will tell if I need to register ex-mnxmfan.com (haha) but I can’t see how this can be good for the consumer.  But then again, I have seen radio die due to mergers, and XM has been slowly getting worse over the past two years as they also jump on the “lowest common denominator” bandwagon, that 2 billion dollars in debt require.

As I sit here and wait to see what happens, I can honestly say that it has been a fun ride.  I have met so many new people through our passion for this once great service.  I have discovered new music and broadened my taste in music more than ever before.  If this is truely the end, it was worth it.

In the meantime, all us subscribers can do is wait, and as changes come down the pipe we can be smart consumers.  Who knows, maybe us naysayers are wrong.  Guess we’ll have to revisit this post in a year to see what happens.

One thing I can say is that I have never had more choice in how and when I get music.  With an IPod in the car, services like Slacker, Pandora and AOL Radio, and the hundreds of thousands of internet radio stations out there, I’m sure to keep my desire for new music filled.  But as a fan of the general presentation of radio for over 20 years, this change does bring sadness.

Leave a Reply

