The End of an Era

Posted: July 12, 2010 in Project: Home

Slightly less than two years after moving in to my first apartment, I find myself packing it all up and moving yet again.  I’m happy to be moving closer to work and upgrading apartments, but at the same time, I’d be lying if I didn’t also say that I’m a tad bit sad as well, for a few reasons.

Part of this era, as I look back, ended 7 months ago.  You see, a big part of the reason (although not the only reason) I chose to live here was that I had two of my best friends living just 4 doors down the hall.  That was, of course, until they bought a house last December.  While it’s not that far away (10 minutes now, 20 minutes when I move) it does seem to have changed things a bit.  Probably not entirely because of moving, but they have been busy planning a wedding, getting in shape, and developing new friendships.  Still, this building will always have many memories as me just strolling down the hall to have a few drinks while playing WoW, or having Rose stop down when I’m sick with a care package to help me feel better.  It was probably the best part of the last two years of my life.  (And if the subjects of this post are reading it now, I propose a movie night very soon, its been far too long!).  While I’ll be a tad bit further away than I used to be, I want to make more of an effort to hang out with you guys when I move.  And as a bonus, I’ll be less than a mile from Boston Market again!  But, I’m more than happy to drive down to see you guys too!

Another part of what I’ll miss about living here is the view, the concrete walls, and the location.  Burnsville was always a city that I grew up with, being where us Prior Lakers went to shop, and worship (my old church used to be two blocks from here before they also moved to Savage).  It was something I was familular with, so it didn’t take that much time to get acclimated when I moved here full time.  It’s another stage to growing up I guess, but I am looking forward to it!

But, as I look back at the things that were great about living here, I also look forward to all the things that are great about living up there.  The shorter communtes, my own washer, being literally 2 miles from EVERYTHING, and having the change of scenery will be nice.  The great thing about renting is, if I get up there and I’m miserable, I can always move back down here in a year.

Leave a Reply

